Last week we had the closing meeting in a Collaborative divorce – 4 months, start to finish. Final Judgment was entered by the Court just 2 days after the Collaborative Marital Settlement Agreement was signed; spouses sat together and talked after a strained three year separation; relationships with their college age children vastly improved. Both spouses thanked the entire team. The self-described “boorish” husband had the grace to say to the whole team: “Value added. Express highway to Splitsville. Serenity now.” This, in a very few words, is why we work collaboratively.

FACP’s research survey is up and running. Go to the https://www.collaborativepracticeflorida.com/for-professionals/ (Password is FACP2019). Click on the link below Practice Survey for Professionals: Online Access. We need every Collaborative Professional around the state to make sure that a survey is submitted for each Collaborative case—whether or not a final agreement is reached. We don’t know what we don’t measure. Imagine the positive impact if we were able to report thousands of successful Collaborative cases within Florida.

Welcome to two new Practice Groups: Brevard Collaborative Association, Tiffany Loris, President; and Treasure Coast Collaborative Law Group, Patricia Sciarrino, President. We now have 17 practice groups from around the state!

If you haven’t already signed up to attend the IACP Forum in Chicago in October, it’s not too late to take advantage of early bird registration fees (deadline September 3). Find out more and register here: https://www.collaborativepractice.com/iacp-events

FACP has 9 committees – you don’t have to be on the FACP Board to serve on a committee. Committee work is a great way to get to know people from around the state who are as passionate about Collaborative divorce as you are. Here are our open committees and their chairs: pick one and reach out to the chair to get started:

Fundraising Jeff Wasserman jwasserman@sbwh.law
Outreach Joshua Jones jjones@joshuajoneslaw.com
Access to Collaborative Pam Masters pam@masterscdc.com
Practice Groups Joryn Jenkins joryn@openpalmlaw.com
Membership Jackie Green jgreen@thegreenlawfirmjax.com
Education Cyril Moody cmoody@marksanadwest.com

Elaine Silver
FACP President